Lizzybeth’s Look On Life

Spacey Thoughts

Posted on: June 2, 2009

I’ve know for quite a while now that I think too much and that sometimes my thoughts freak me out.  The biggy in the freaky thoughts for me was always space, but the other day I discovered a new one, how babies are born…. No I did not just find out how they are made etc etc, it was actually a poster with all the stages of the featus (sp) that freaked me out.

I’m not sure if it was the fact that the baby appears to change direction quite a lot inside the womb (I think I once asked why the blood didnt all rush to the babies head seeing as its upside down at the very end).  But I suspect the real thing that got me freaky thinking was the fact that we are somehow genetically built so that we can produce babies.  It kinda scared me.  Take plants for example, they dont go through the rigmarole of getting pregnant, they just let the birds and the bees do all the work.  But somehow the animal kingdom are capable of having a living thing grow inside of them.  It totally freaked me (ok I’ve got to stop using the word freak here, I feel like an american).  I guess to get what I really thought across I should have wrote this blog yesterday but I didnt get round to it.

Incase my thought on things growing inside didnt really convince you of why my mind scares me, I’ll share why when I think of space I scare myself.  Its the fact that we think we’re sooo important but at the end of it all, we’re just a tiny part of something ginormous.  I mean we’re just a planet that I guess happened to be in the right place at the right time to sustain life; this planet just floats around in a galaxy that seems to be pretty empty of other life no matter how hard we look for it.  But then outside our galaxy theres loads more, they all make up the universe.  What is the purpose of the universe?  Is there life in other galaxies that are the same as us, or are the green aliens?  But then how many universes are there, theres only so far the eye of some telescope/satalite thing can see.  And what happens when one day the universe/galaxy/sun dies.  Do we just vanish…hopefully I wont be around that day.  But when the sun dies will we know about it, for all we know the sun could be dead right now seeing as the sunlight we recieve is quite a few lightyears old by the time it reaches us…but how long is a lightyear? (that is a new thought)…hmm I think I shall stop now because I can ramble around in a massive circle on my thoughts of space; but it still scares me…just sitting, floating…..

2 Responses to "Spacey Thoughts"

“And still it’s all a speck amid a hundred billion stars
In a galaxy we call the Milky Way.
It’s sixty thousand trillion miles from one end to the other
And still that’s just a fraction of the way.
‘Cause there’s a hundred billion galaxies that stretch across the sky
Filled with constellations, planets, moons and stars.
And still the universe extends to a place that never ends
Which is maybe just inside a little jar!

It’s a great big universe
And we’re all really puny
We’re just tiny little specks
About the size of Mickey Rooney.
Though we don’t know how it got here
We’re an important part here
It’s a big universe and it’s ours!”

Gotta love the Warner brothers… and the Warner sister. 😛

Back in the day when cartoons actually taught us useful stuff rather than how to bully the kid with glasses AND braces

Leave a Reply

Tweeting Goodness

You don't have wordpress but I still value your reading and comments so click me!

Join 4 other followers

