Lizzybeth’s Look On Life

‘Supernatural’

Posted on: August 6, 2009

I had my ipod on today (no surprise there) and Dangerous Type by Letters To Cleo came on.  I love that song and I first heard it on the soundtrack to the film The Craft.  So that got me thinking of all the films I’ve seen with ‘supernatural’ things (basically werewolves, vampires and witches Im on about here…there’s far to many alien films to list!).  I guess the fact that I was reading a book by L. J. Smith helped with this thinking seeing as her books are all about supernatural beings and soulmates and other such ‘nonsense’

So anyway, here is my list of films (the ones I remember anyway).  I could do books but Ive read far to many to list or even remember.

  • The Craft – just because I mentioned this earlier I thought I’d start with it.  I love the soundtrack a lot and I keep meaning to buy this film but Im debating whether £7 is expensive or not haha.  I keep wanting to include Scream in this list but thats not supernatural stuff, its just because it has that Neve person in it who’s also in The Craft.
  • Twilight – thought I’d better mention this one pretty soon otherwise if Hayley commented she might say something 😛  This film also has an awsome soundtrack (despite the Paramore songs).  Can’t wait for the rest of the books to turn into films :]
  • The Covenant – hmmmm yummy fit blokes slamming each other into walls with witchcraft :] When people say witch I normaly think of a woman not a man so this was very refreshing (I just realised while writing this I thought hey I’m sure the bad guy in this film is in Gossip Girl, so I IMDB’d it and he is, which is funny coz Chace Crawford is in both too!) This film also has mr yummy Kyle Schmid, but I am of the opinion that Toby Hemingway who plays Reid, my fav, should be in more films damm him! (I need to buy this film too but my flat mate owns it).
  • Cursed – Werewolves :] This film starts off with Bowling For Soup playing Lil’ Red Riding Hood and in my opinion sets the mood for the film. A very good one.  I do enjoy this film a lot and still remember laughing lots at it in the cinema while Sara Sproates told me that if I carried on laughing people would think I was on drugs, even though there was only about 5 other people in the room coz it was early in the day in the holidays I think.
  • The Lost Boys – oh how I fell in love with this film the first time I ever saw it (no it wasnt Keifer Sutherland I swear *hides in embarrasement* (or either of the Correys *cough*)).  I love everything about this film and envy Emma McBride coz I saw a picture of her on facebook wearing a t-shirt with the picture on, I keep looking for it but I cant find that one. I guess she might have made it herself.
  • The Lost Boys 2 – The Tribe – so it’s not as good as the first, Keifer’s brother is not as great an actor (or maybe just not that fit a vamp) but as films go, on its own its pretty decent.
  • 5 Girls – I randomly found this in the library when I was looking for films to rent.  It turned out to have that guy who plays Hellboy in it.  It had a surprise ending I thought, which was really good.  I also remember looking for the song from it but never found it. I shall have another look now I’ve remembered. You should check it out some time, good film.
  • Blood and Chocolate – I love this film, and the book which is slightly different.
  • Queen of the Damned – ahh Stuart Townsend :] and a pretty awsome soundtrack too! Just finished reading the book, which was different but still good.
  • Interview With The Vampire – OK so I know this sticks to the book more than the one above but I’ve got to say Tom Cruise as Lestat Sucked! I really dislike this film, it takes ages to get into (like the book).
  • Van Helsing
  • Underworld
  • Underworld 2 (Evolution)
  • Underworld 3 (Rise of the Lycans)
  • Bram Stokers Dracula – (The one with Keanu Reeves and Gary Oldman) I should probably try watching this again. I think I was slightly ill, I just remember turning it off every 5 mins and going to sleep for a bit. Plus it was on for like 3 hours!
  • Buffy The Vampire Slayer – I saw this film on film4 and Oh My God it was amazing!! I want to buy it, so much better than the tv show (depsite the lack of Spike). Special info here, one of the vamps who dies at the end (dont remember his name) improvised his death scene and you can totaly tell, it was hillarious. 
  • Blade
  • Blade 2
  • Blade 3 (Trinity)
  • The Little Vampire – Oh yea, gotta get these kids films in here :] Used to read the books too
  • Night Watch
  • Day Watch – apparently the third one should be out soon. The books are better though
  • The Howling – watched this on late night telly while sleeping at a mates house. We still laugh about it now. It’s supposed to be the scariest out the lot (there’s about 6) but we found the special effects pretty funny.
  • Ginger Snaps
  • Ginger Snaps 2 (Unleashed)
  • Ginger Snaps Back -ah how I love this trilogy. Emily Perkins is the best actress ever (especially as Eunice in She’s The Man).  First film is the best out the lot though.
  • Big Fish – apparently this film has a werewolf in.  Cant remember but it was sureal enough to go on this list :]
  • Skinwalkers
  • The Brothers Grimm – well it’s about fairy tales and stuff so I thought I’d add it on here (plus it has a werewolf in)
  • Fairy Tale: A True Story
  • Hocus Pocus – I think everyones seen this one :]
  • Bewitched
  • Bedknobs And Broomsticks
  • The Wizard of Oz
  • Snow White And The Seven Dwaves – lol why not?
  • The Cruicible – ok so I dont think they ever do witchcraft for real but they go on about it enough to earn a place on this list!
  • Cult – this film scared me quite a bit I think. I remember telling Hayley via msn pretty much everything that was going on.
  • Harry Potter and the Philosphers Stone
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
  • Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince – of course all the Harry’s would be on this list :]

Ok so that’s all I can think of for now.  Im pretty sure there’s some Ive missed, especially as I shoved Snow White in there I could have gone on a complete Disney tangent and added stuff like Cinderella and Sleeping Beauty.  Or I could have put in Scooby Doo and stuff, or all the weird ghosty films too like 13 ghosts, Amityville Horror  and Long Time Dead etc.  I could also have put tv shows like Blood Ties and Buffy The Vampire Slayer (seeing as I’ve actually seen all their complete series) but decided not to.  Stuff like the original Witch Mountain lot could have gone on the list as Ive deffinately seen one, but I think they might be aliens not witches…not too sure.

 

Anyways, if you’ve got any recomendations doo leave them. I might have seen them and just forgot 😛

2 Responses to "‘Supernatural’"

I like how much I’m mentioned in this haha. Twilight does rock – I just finished The Host, it’s good but not brilliant, I don’t have the urge to start it again like I did straight after finishing Twilght. I also like the Covenant, I noticed the chace crawford/random other guy link to gossip girl last week while I was watching it haha. One of them is Gambit in the xmen origins film too. Is Donnie Darko counted as supernatural? Have you ever watched the tv series jst called Supernatural? I think you’d like it – it’s kind of along the lines of charmed..but then again totally not haha. similar in a sense of most of the time it’s just a diff supernatural creature they hav to defeat each week…diff cos…erm..it is…I love it though – check it out.
xx

Ive never seen supernatural but I have a friend who’s obbsessed with it so Ive been debating buying the box sets. Yea I cant remember which guy plays gambit but Im sure I read somewhere that he’s a model for abercrombie and fitch or something :S

Lol I dont think I can be bothered to read the host for some reason. Im not sure if Donnie Darko is counted, its kinda more trippy than werewolves and vampires etc lol. Did I put the league of extrodinary gentlemen on this list? That has a vamp in it x

Leave a Reply

Tweeting Goodness

You don't have wordpress but I still value your reading and comments so click me!

Join 4 other followers

