Lizzybeth’s Look On Life

A Bit Of Looking Back

Posted on: January 3, 2010

I meant to have this written before 2010 started as it seemed like making a list of 2009 was the thing to be done (pretty much everything I saw whether it was blog, dodgy free magazines, the news etc had made one).  And as I enjoy making lists then here’s a list of a few things I remember from 2009…I hope most of them will be good ones.

  • I started off my 2009 (and judging by the photo I was cheering) in Bulletproof with Hayley Rose.
  • In 2009 I managed to somehow get myself abroad; I went off to Peru for 4 weeks from the end of June to the middle of July.  During that trip I got to go to Brazil and Colombia.  I also got to see a real life jungle, the Amazon Rainforest to be exact.  As the name suggests it rained a lot; usually around 3pm.  I got to see some jungle monkeys and some river dolphins.  I also got to trip the one day I went in the forest and tear my ligaments in my ankle badly.  For those interested, it is still swollen now.
  • I finished my second year at uni and started my third.
  • I went to my first festival.  It was awesome.
  • On the note of gigs, I managed to get myself to a lot more than I had in my first year as I realised ‘hey, why not just skip your lesson and get a train back home coz face it you might never get another chance to see them.’  Not counting Leeds Fest, I think I went to about 8 or 9 gigs in 2009.  I even went to one alone!
  • I can’t honestly say which was my favourite as they were all awesome (though Go:Audio were pretty shocking LOL).  Once again not counting Leeds Fest, I got to see the King Blues who were pretty darn good, Billy Talent were awesome as usual (I hadn’t seen them for about 3 or 4 years), Zebrahead…Rise against (who if you count Leeds Fest I saw 3 times in 2009 and they were brilliant every single time).  But I think just at the top of this list would be Green Day because we were so close to them, they played my favourite songs, it was my first time seeing them and they put on a fucking amazing show!
  • At Leeds Festival I got to see Spinnerette (and therefore Brody Dale in the flesh) and Gallows for the first time.  I also got to see Billy Talent and Rise Against again.
  • I’m not sure what my favourite album of 2009 was, Spinnerette, Billy Talent and Green Day all had good albums out this year that stayed in my cd player for quite a while (yes I actually own them in cd form).  I got the New Moon soundtrack for Christmas and that is currently having a good bashing on the cd player.
  • 2009 gave me some pretty good nights out, especially in second year (no one seems to go out much in third year).
  • I saw quite a few films at the cinema, don’t remember what most of them were.  I’m pretty sure I missed quite a few as well due to stupid Scarborough not having most of them.  I did enjoy G.I.Joe, Transformers 2, Harry Potter 6, New Moon and Where the Wild Things Are amongst others.
  • I’m pretty sure it was in 2009 that my mate introduced me to a Japanese film called Kamikaze Girls.  Its amazing, makes me laugh a lot, the colours are so vibrant, the Lolita dresses are awesome and I want!  Oh and it has a wicked soundtrack too :]
  • Of 2009 the most played song on my i-tunes is Desolation Row – My Chemical Romance from the film Watchmen (was that out in 2009, it was also pretty good).  I can’t say the least played as there is a lot on here that have apparently never been played (I’m going to do a sort out which should also free up space on my laptop).
  • TV wise I enjoyed seasons 1 & 2 of True Blood, seasons 1, 2 & 3 that’s out of Big Bang Theory.  Vampire Diaries, season 3 of Skins, Misfits, season 3 of Ugly Betty, and finally watched all of season 2 of Gossip Girl and what’s out of season 3.
  • Books wise I got into the House of Night series by P.C and Kristen Cast, I love it.  I also read Queen of the Damned, Breaking Dawn and started Anna Karenina but haven’t finished it yet LOL.  Oh and I also got excited when L.J.Smith had her Nightworld books repackaged coz I got to read the few I hadn’t read years ago; oh and I also read her Vampire Diaries which I enjoy in a different way to the TV show, though number 5 bugged me a bit.

I hope there were more good points to 2009 because that’s a pretty random list.  Of course every year has downers.  I could go on a suicidal rant with my list of downers for 2009 but don’t want to bore you more than I already have :]  But here’s a few:

  • My rabbit Mopsy died.  I got her when I was 11, she was already about a year old, so I think she was about 9 years old when she died (actually it sounds like she committed suicide).
  • Rancid finally put another album out; it was a good album but not as good as their older stuff.
  • I acquired a swollen ankle and I can’t even run properly.
  • I had my first major argument with Ashlie; I was drunk, I was tired and I guess I just spewed up all the feeling I normally keep to myself or tell other people behind her back.  It was an overdue spillage as I don’t think I’d really ranted at her the entire time I’ve known her at uni.
  • Manda moved out which is quite sad as I hardly see her anymore now…we have random facebook conversations instead but they aren’t the same.
  • I started my final year at university and I have no idea what to do when I finish.

I hope 2010 can be a bit better!

1 Response to "A Bit Of Looking Back"

Leave a Reply

Tweeting Goodness

You don't have wordpress but I still value your reading and comments so click me!

Join 4 other followers

