Lizzybeth’s Look On Life

I Am (Not Quite) The Muffin Man

Posted on: February 25, 2010

So the other day I mention I was going to make some bluberry muffins.  Yesterday I attempted.

Usually when baking I like to use Be-Ro recipes (except for brownies, I have a yummy brownie recipe in my chocolate book).  But for Christmas I got “The Big Book Of Baking” which is apparently a gourmand winner.  I mainly wanted the book for the nice cake and pie pictures – hey that’s what a cookery books for – the pictures!

I used their recipe for Low-Fat Blueberry Muffins:

Makes 12

Ingredients:

  • 225g plain flour
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp all spice
  • 115g caster sugar
  • 3 large egg whites
  • 3 tbsp low-fat margarine
  • 150ml low fat natural or blueberry flavoured yogurt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 85g fresh blueberries

Recipe:

  • preheat oven to 190C/gas mark 5; place 12 paper muffin cases in a muffin tin
  • sift flour, bicarb, salt and half the allspice into a large mixing bowl.  Add 6 tablespoons of sugar and mix well
  • In a seperate bowl whisk the egg whites.  Add marg, yogurt and vanilla extract.  Mix well then stir in blueberries until thoroughly mixed.
  • Add fruit mixture to dry ingredients then stir gently until just combined.
  • Do not overstir the mixture – it is fine to be a little lumpy.
  • Divide the mixture evenly between the cases (about 2/3 full).
  • Mix the remaining sugar and allspice and sprinkle over muffins.
  • Bake in preheated oven for about 25 minutes or until risen and golden.
  • Remove and either serve warm or place on a wire rack to cool completely.

 

 

OK so it was my first attempt at muffins.  They didnt rise up quite as muffiny as I would have liked.  They look more like fairy cakes and to be honest they taste a bit like blueberry fair cakes rather than muffins.  I must stress this is my first muffin attempt.

But I think I know what went wrong.  It said dont overstir and it can be lumpy, well I dont think mine was lumpy enough as I possibly overstirred it in an attempt to get all the flour mixed in.

Next time maybe I’ll add the flour to the fruit mixture a bit at a time instead of pouring all the fruit mixture into the flour. 

Also, unless I get a bit with lots of yummy blueberry (I may add a bit more than 85g next time as some muffins dont seem to have as many blueberries as others) then mine tast a bit plain as you cant taste the vanilla and I couldnt find any allspice so I had to do without.

I might try a normal muffin recipe instead of low-fat then I dont have to buy yogart and I also dont end up with 3 egg yolks.  (I ended up washing my hair with them as it apprently makes it shiny…well it seemed to have worked till I went outside in the stupid mist today and it went awful! … plus I tried to wash it out with cool water but I didnt want to freeze so I did end up scrambling my hair slightly LOL)

I shall leave you with that muffin bursting with blueberry *nom nommm*

Leave a Reply

Tweeting Goodness

You don't have wordpress but I still value your reading and comments so click me!

Join 4 other followers

