Lizzybeth’s Look On Life

Go See Alice

Posted on: March 13, 2010

I often think of something to blog about when I’m falling asleep; I write the entire thing in my head as I’m too cozy to move for a pen and paper or to turn my light on…I’m also too tired to bother waiting for my laptop to get itself ready for usage.

So with that in mind this blog will blatently not be as good as it was when I thought it up last night and the entire point of it will probably be missed as often happens when I do this =p

As the title may suggest (though I havent thought up the title of this yet so it might not!) this blog is about Alice in Wonderland…the new film.  I’m not going to talk about the film per-say so this shouldnt have any spoilers in it (but lets be honest here…I’m pretty sure most people know the general gist of Alice in Wonderland anyway).

So I wouldnt call myself the biggest Alice fan…Im sure there are plenty people out there who are totally obsessed with all things Alice but I will list my interactions with the world:

  • I’ve read various versions of Louis Carrols ‘Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland’ and also ‘Through The Looking Glass and What Alice Found There’.
  • I’ve heard the book read on the radio quite a few times.
  • I’m not sure if Ive seen the Disney cartoon (though I probably have at least once) but I do remember we had the Disney book and tape (can you remember those, they had the Disney pictures then the story read along with the tape and a twinkle sound was played when you had to turn the page…I cant remember if they had some of the film songs on the tape too, most likely.  I remember we had quite a lot of them).
  • I’ve read the first two in the Looking Glass Wars trilogy by Frank Beddor (though I’ve just found on his website that he’s wrote some about the Hatter too!).
  • I’ve had American McGee’s Alice for well over a year now but I still havent finished it as I suck at computer games, the music scares me, and I havent had time to go on in ages.
  • Bad Alice by Jean Ure (I only read it coz I liked the cover but it was a really good story too!).

Well Alice has inspired so many things that Im sure there is more (the matrix, Resident Evil [the films, not sure if the game is the same]…that song by Jefferson Airplane).

So that’s my little list I thought I would put in just for fun.  The main one to take note of is the game American McGee’s Alice.  Keep that one in the back of your head for later.

 

Right…so back to the new Alice in Wonderland…Disney; Tim Burton; Jonny Depp … awsome?  You would think.

Don’t get me wrong, I totally loved the film as a film but as Tim Burton it wasnt what I was expecting.  I thought I’d make a list (from IMDB) of anything I’ve seen that has Tim Burton’s name on it:

  • Nightmare Before Christmas
  • Corpse Bride
  • Edward Scissorhands
  • Mars Attacks!
  • Alice in Wonderland
  • 9 (ok I havent watched it yet but my mate had a copy that she just gave to me the other day)
  • James and the Giant Peach
  • Batman Forvever (that is the one with Jim Carrey as the riddler isnt it?)
  • Ed Wood
  • Beetle Juice
  • Frankenweenie (apprently it’s getting remade but I watched the old one as its an extra on either my NBC or corpse bride dvd)
  • Sweeney Todd
  • Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
  • Big Fish
  • Vincent (another extra on said dvd)

So I think that’s it (Yes I have never seen Sleepy Hollow [well I saw like 5 minutes once but Id missed so much I didnt know what was going on so I turned it off]).

So with those films in mind I do know that Burton does family orrientated films as well as slightly more macabre orrientated films.

When I was in the cinema just before Alice started I got a bit of a shock when I saw it was only a PG…I’m not sure why because obviously it was Disney Child orrientated so a 12 would be no good and a 12A is pretty much the same as a PG in my opinion.

Remember how I mentioned American McGee’s Alice earlier…well that is a darker version of wonderland, where an older Alice returns to try to kill the Queen of Hearts.  I guess I was expecting something like that.

Though I loved all the bright colours (which Im sure would have been even better on an HD screen) and the crazyness of the film which is quite Tim Burtony, I guess I just wanted it to be a bit more sadistic.

I have to admit though…the scenery when they were on the chess board did look very American McGee which kinda cheered me up but also made me think “hey wait a minute!!” (mann I guess I can’t be satisfied).

 

I may have just slagged the film off slightly….or more precisly wasted your time and mine…but I did really enjoy the film and it better still be on at the IMAX when I go home for easter so I can see it in 3D HD!  One thing I loved was that Alice was the only fully human looking person in wonderland, further enforcing the fact that she’s “not in kansas anymore”

Oh…just 2 problem…Helena Bonham Carter played the Red Queen though she kept saying off with her head which is what the queen of heats says NOT the red queen (though they often get dumped together and even I get confused!). And at one point when Jonny Depp was talking I thought mann I need a pause, rewind, play in slow motion to understand what he just said (yes I know it was part of his character but subtitles would have helped at that point lol).

I must say I loved the Cheshire Cat; the way he just rolled around…if anyone finds one please send it along to me as I want it!!

 

A weird thought I had last night before sleeping was this:

Zac Effron is Disney’s poster boy (well he used to be…I dont know if he still does lots of Disney stuff) and Jonny Depp is like Disney’s poster man (yea he does things other than Disney [he’s more like Tim Burton’s poster man which is awsome!] but he does do quite a lot of big Disney films)…I don’t know who Disney’s poster girl and woman is…I guess maybe Milley Cirus might be poster girl as Lindsey Lohan and Hillary Duff went off the Disney radar a while ago.

 

Oh I just found this: http://www.aintitcool.com/node/44170 : and it pretty much sums up how I feel about the film LOL.  As I said, it was awsome and I loved it and yea I’ll probably get the dvd…but I wish it could have been slightly better!

Leave a Reply

Tweeting Goodness

You don't have wordpress but I still value your reading and comments so click me!

Join 4 other followers

